PDA

View Full Version : Dosing Calcium??

Reefer2727
12/29/2009, 01:54 PM
I am going to be putting a GFO reactor on my 100 gallon system to help with some phosphates. I was just reading that a GFO reactor tends to reduce alkalinity.

Now I haven't dosed anything yet as I am still new to all this. I currently just have some softies which don't require much. My tank has been running for 4 months. I have been debating dosing calcium for a while as I would like to get into some LPS. I have also read that when dosing calcium you need to keep a close eye on alkalinity and magnesium. Anyway, I think I would just start by using a product such as Seachem Reef Advantage Calcium powder.

Questions are: Will running a GFO reactor necessitate dosing to keep my alkalinity in check? Will dosing some powdered calcium keep my alkalinity levels ok? Should I worry about magnesium? My current calcium level is about 300. I will be switching from Instant Ocean salt to Reef Crystals which will help a little. But I would like to see my calcium closer to 400.

Thanks

jparadise
12/29/2009, 01:58 PM
I would look into B-ionic 2 part. My alkalinity and calcium has started to fall after adding multiple corals. I now use this 2 part and everything is back to PAR levels

Shane Hoffman
12/29/2009, 02:00 PM
Phosphate reactors dont affect my calcium at all that I know of. I wouldnt recommend dosing something because you think something else affects it.

You need to purchase calcium, alkilinity, and magnesium test kits. Only dose after a test tells you something is off. Also If you keep up on your water changes I would think you wouldnt have to dose much if any at all if you only have softies and a few lps...

Your calcium is pretty low right now. Once you get it up the REEF CRYSTALS should help you maintain a higher level as long as you do regualr water changes. I use reef crystals and it always tests at well above 400 for calcium.

pecdo
12/29/2009, 02:08 PM