PDA

View Full Version : Mojano's in a Fish + softies tank?

Misterchinn
12/30/2009, 04:12 PM
So I got some rocks from someone. They've got various zoanthids... with some mojano anemones mixed in.

I'm 99.9% sure I'm not going to add sps or lps since I am a noob and really want a hardy tank without having to do a lot of dosing and whatnot.

Question: I know mojanos are pests, but I don't mind the look of them. Are they mostly a nuisance and ugly? Or is there another reason why they are so dreaded? The only other corals I have are mushrooms. The only other livestock I plan to add is a cleaner shrimp.

Is Joe's Juice or a basic Kalk treatment the best way to get these?

windupdevl
12/30/2009, 04:31 PM
I agree that they can be nice to look at, but from experience, they can get out of control very quickly. They do sting the mushrooms and coral you want and will eventually kill them. I had one majano that I let stay because I figured there was no real harm being done. Before I knew it, little babies were popping up all over my tank and now I am battling them. Do yourself a favor and nuke what you can find and keep up on it until they stop appearing. I'm using kalk paste in a syringe on mine, much like I do with my aptasia. Seems to work fairly well. HTH

Falconeer
12/30/2009, 04:33 PM
I'm fairly sure that mojano, like aiptasia, will damage/kill other corals and take over your tank. Now, if your nutrient levels are in check and there aren't enough nutrients for the mojano to reproduce, then it's possible that they will stay in their current state.

I never read it, but I saw a user on here mention an article in which the author described having a single aiptasia in his tank for a year without it reproducing or without seeing any others.

I think kalk works on Mojano, I don't know about Joe's Juice and I know some of the treatments fo aiptasia do not work on mojano.

HTH,
Falc

Misterchinn
12/30/2009, 05:19 PM
For the particulars on Kalk injection: