PDA

View Full Version : Lunarsim question


mids1999
01/02/2010, 12:20 AM
Does anyone know the voltage / amperage limits of the lunarsim?

I know it comes with LEDs (number depending on model ordered)

Do the different models use different power supplies?

kenargo
01/02/2010, 11:34 AM
No, they are all the same module; do difference.

mids1999
01/02/2010, 12:37 PM
Ken, do you know the capacity of the module? (Voltage / amperage wise.)

Wondering if the lunarsim could be used to control an R2 48" Signature Series moonlight.
Spec says that the moonlight is 12v, and must be dimable since R2 makes a dimmer/controller for it.

kenargo
01/02/2010, 03:19 PM
I do not have that information but since the power supply is 9v I doubt that the output would be 12 v and the LunarSim isn't as much about controlling moon lights as it is about supplying a voltage that varies during the lunar cycle. I have hear that 5-6 LEDs is about the limit of the circuit but you may want to call Neptune and see if they will share the specifics.

Daniel Reef
01/02/2010, 04:21 PM
Share what you find from Neptune.

mids1999
01/04/2010, 07:23 AM
I am going to call later today and post what I find out.

mids1999
01/05/2010, 10:12 AM
Just heard back from Curt.

According to Curt, it is a no go.

Here is a copy of the message I received from him.

Hi,
No, the lunar simulator will not work with 3rd party LEDs. All the LEDs have different required voltage/current characteristics so they are not interchangeable.
You can use the Apex and an EB8 outlet to turn on/off this lunar light at the appropriate times, however, there will be not dimming.

Curt