PDA

View Full Version : aluminum tank w/ marine epoxy?

andrew2010
01/02/2010, 03:12 AM
I am new to reef tanks but I have many years with freshwater tanks. I am outgrowing my 29g standard tank. I am going to attempt to build my own tank but did not want acrylic or plywood construction. I am not sure of the size yet either 3' long by 24" deep 32" high or 6' long ( 9' of counter space available). I have been reading on plywood construction with 1-3 glass panels. I want to do similar construction but with aluminum plate or rectangular tubing with 2 starphire glass panels. I like the contemporary look of brushed aluminum and i think it would look better than plywood const. I would paint the interior of the tank blue or black then cover with marine epoxy. I even figured out a way to have a mechanical clamp (besides the silicone adhesive/sealant) behind the glass by welding all thread to the edge of the interior of the tank that I can bolt "renforcing plates" around the glass edge. I plan on either having the exterior brushed or machined with possible copper accent pieces on it.

my question is about the marine epoxy. will it bond with aluminum safley for a reef tank ? if this works I would like to toy with making an all enclosed nano tank for my bedroom with a sliding attached hood.

jimzin15754
01/02/2010, 09:41 AM