PDA

View Full Version : Monitoring a tank remotely

FortyFour
01/06/2010, 06:01 AM
I don't really know where to begin with this one. I want to learn all about any options available to someone who desires to monitor a tank when they are away from home. I am thinking along the lines of prevention and enjoyment. I am not an expert on the matter. Any knowledge would be appreciated.

It seems that the most practical (and affordable) solution for "remote monitoring" is setting up a webcam. Depending on the camera, one could be able to:

A) View livestock and their behavior
B) View/listen to waterflow to confirm equipment is functioning (if camera has a built-in mic)

Seems intriguing to me. If one has a digital temp display within range of the camera's zoom, they could even check temperature i suppose.

Here are two interesting threads related to webcam use.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1761657&highlight=webcam

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1760243

Some people have taken this a few miles further. I've seen iPhones and websites monitor (and control) everything from salinity to pH, and I find it fascinating to say the least.

Here is a link to a snapshot of Melev's iPhone app:

http://melevsreef.com/archives/2009_09_01_archive.html

(I do not know the guy personally, but he is obviously on top of his game!)

So here are two sides of the spectrum. Is there anything in between?

pmcadams
01/06/2010, 07:27 AM
Except for seeing catastrophic failure, I think a webcam would be pretty useless as a health monitor. Melev's system is the real deal, fairly expensive to implement, but if you want a true monitor, that's the way to go. You might be able to find a good deal on a less expensive or used controller and just set up a few vital sensors. Except for the fact that it's pretty cool, I'd put remote monitor system way down on the list. Auto top-off, power backup, calc reactor, etc., all come first IMO :)

lordofthereef
01/06/2010, 10:15 AM