PDA

View Full Version : Extra Credit

clownfreak
01/06/2010, 09:56 PM
Hello all,

First of all I am completely new to diving, although I know a little of some of the more basic stuff. I have no training or certifications whatsoever. That said i will hopefully be completing my open water certification soon. Hopefully I will take an advanced open water in the near future also, but that might have to wait for a while.

I was wondering if anyone knew of any information I can pick up before I go to the class. I've been reading around and have seen people talking about how lax the classes have gotten. I do not wish to be an unprepared diver, and therefor am attempting to seek out some extra information. One of the things I have seen mentioned are the "dive charts" and how they aren't being taught, but are being replaced with computers. Does anyone know of a "how-to" I can read, then maybe pull some charts to practice on? I am looking to pick up any information I can to be as well prepared as possible.

Thanks!

billsreef
01/06/2010, 10:13 PM
One of the best things to do is go around to the different dive shops in your area and talk them. Get an idea of how they teach, ask a few questions, find out if they still teach the tables (what your calling charts), etc. Get a feel for them and pick the one you feel most comfortable with. It's also a good idea to talk to area divers and get their opinions on the local shops and instructors. Once you sign up for a class, they will give the course book, give it a read, and feel free to ask us any questions that come up. With gear, just start out with the "personal" gear, mask, snorkel, booties and fins. Wait till you've got some dives under the belt so that you have an idea of what sort of diving you'll be doing and what sort of equipment you'll like.

clownfreak
01/06/2010, 10:35 PM
Thanks, I am planning on going to one shop tomorrow and check things out.

SeaJayInSC
01/07/2010, 12:44 AM
Welcome!