PDA

View Full Version : question about cultivating copepods

Jason7504
01/20/2010, 12:06 PM
im gonna be cultivating copepods and plan on using a 1g container with an air pump and phyto. but ive heard some conflicting opinions about using an air pump on a smaller container than 5g. Some say that an air pump shouldn't be used on a tank smaller than 5g. is this true?

Jeff
01/20/2010, 12:23 PM
Try a small air pump to keep the phyto suspended but not overly aggitated.

Jason7504
01/20/2010, 08:06 PM
ok well i can't find a air pump small enough for my 1g jug..the smallest one i got even with a valve is too strong. so I can over aggitate?

slief
01/20/2010, 08:21 PM
You might need a better valve or a pair of valves and a splitter. Last time I tried raising copepods I used a 5 gallon tank and set the air to bubble a few times a second. You are not airating so much as you are creating some sort of current.

Now I will say that I had little success in raising them so I am not an expert but I did do a fair amount of homework and my failure was likely because I paid it no attention at all other than probably overfeeding them..

spleify
01/20/2010, 09:27 PM
I never had an air pump on my cultures when I had them, and I had small containers also. I cultured them for a couple of years.

Jason7504
01/21/2010, 12:20 AM
don't the air pumps prevent the phyto from forming a slime on top?

Jason7504
01/21/2010, 01:09 PM
bump

ChadTheSpike
01/21/2010, 01:30 PM
You mention a gallon container and a gallon jug... You are right about about the slime on the surface...
My concern here would be twofold, type of copepod and the vessel...
What kind of copepods (harpacticoid or calanoid) do you plan on cultivating?