PDA

View Full Version : Question for Kalk users

dcforester1
01/21/2010, 08:41 PM
I am new to using kalk, and fairly new to reefing(1yr). I have approx 80-85gal mixed reef. I was having trouble keeping my Alk up. I use Randys rec. I started dripping Kalk about 3-4weeks ago. I started with 1Tbs/gal, now I am using 2Tbs/gal. I am dripping as my top off, and evap 1- 1 1/2galper day. My Alk still doesnt stay up I start at 10, and the next day I am down to 6-7, is normal? I thought dripping the kalk was suppose to keep it up?

I am mixing it in a 5gal bucket, letting it sit for 24hrs, and letting it drip in. I dont know if I let it sit long enough, because everything in my sump is turning white from the kalk. The inside glass of the sump was all white, chalky. I am wondering if my skimmer is not removing fine particles from the water because I am also having issues with that as well.

I am just wondering if I am doing this the right way? Does anyone have any ideas/suggs on what I should try doing? I am just putting the solution in a bucket, but I am thinking of putting together a kalk reactor with some acrylic tube I had laying around. Am I at the point where maybe I have to much to be maintained by kalk alone? I was thinking of stop dosing for acouple of days to see how much the kalk adds. If I have to add ALk, and Calc anyway, I dont see the point in mixing the kalk. I see people who have alot more than I do maintain there tanks with it, and I dont know what I am doing wrong.

TIA Derek

phil519
01/21/2010, 08:51 PM
I am no expert - but if there's white slurry mix on the bottom of the sump -then the kalk did not saturate correctly before you dosed it. The kalkwasser mix sits on the bottom of the reactor/container and the clear saturated liquid is what gets dosed into the tank.

julie180
01/21/2010, 09:05 PM
Since kalk will never completely dissolve, you need to keep your feed line about an inch off the bottom of the container.