PDA

View Full Version : Corrosion problem with LED lighting

jimnrose
01/22/2010, 09:38 PM
We in the DIY forum are struggeling with a serious corrosion on led's components located 4" above the tank water level. Optically we want the light source as close to the water as reasonable but chemically, salt vapor and metal (gold & solder) is a nightmare.
Help needed:
First, identify a good anticorrosive product to remove the corrosion.
Second, identify a good product (marine grade) to coat the metal surfaces from the salt vapors/spray.

I'm hoping someone with chemical insight or mariner experience can recommend an anticorrosive product &/or sealant (2 part epoxy).
Thanks, Jim
P.S.
I think the LED lighting technology has been making great inroads in the lighting industry. I'm new to theis hobby but am very excited with the 72 led matrix I built for my 125 gallon tank. The corrosive problem will be solved and would have been avoided if I realized the environmental issues. Then we would ned to only indentify the protective sealant.:wave:

Percula9
01/23/2010, 12:03 AM
I would cover the top of the tank with a glass top if possible. You can try to encase the lighting fixture in a acrylic housing. Acrylic is cheap and fairly easy to cut and glue together. I think weld-on 4 from home depot is what is needed to glue the parts together. You should have posted your thread in the lighting filtration and equipment forum.

menthol
01/23/2010, 12:20 AM
Acrylic shield or at least protect the metal ring with LED optics.

FishTruck
01/23/2010, 01:05 AM
I dont know about removing the corrosion.

What about "liquid electric tape" or "plasti dip" (that you can get in the hardware store) to protect the exposed metal? Just paint it right on.

With my DIY LED project, I painted all the exposed metal with this stuff, then used an acrylic sheild to cover the lights.

JNicho
01/23/2010, 01:15 AM