PDA

View Full Version : Where Are The Tang Police When You Need Them?

jk1nole
01/23/2010, 09:20 PM
True story at the LFS today where I buy my water from....

Customer: "How much are your small yellow tangs there?"

Employee: "$29.99"

Customer: "What size tank do I need for one?"

Employee: "Well... that size would be fine for a nano."

Customer: "Really? I only have a 12 gallon. We don't have anything in there yet though."

Employee: "He might outgrow it in a year or so... but as long as you upgrade some then he will be ok..."

I couldn't believe what I heard... I am very new to the hobby, so I thought maybe I misunderstood. Then as I am waiting for my turn the guy and his girlfriend decide to just get a "Sexy Shrimp"

Employee: "Are you sure that's it? We have a lot of good fish for nanos... All of those tangs over there."

Then he named off several more fish after I lost concentration on what he saying. Granted I am new to this hobby... it just didn't seem right.

MAMGM
01/23/2010, 09:29 PM
Get used to the uneducated answers in most LFS. Their not all like that but most of the time you need to research what you are going to the store for befor you get there

RGC
01/23/2010, 09:34 PM
I once saw a LFS selling pairs of different angels and tangs to a couple that had a new 300ish tank that was setup the weekend before. They had many hundreds of dollars worth of soon to be dead fish bagged up. the store closed 6 months late...

Octoshark
01/23/2010, 09:46 PM
I don't even bother to ask my LFS questions anymore.

Johnny C
01/23/2010, 10:36 PM
Wow, I feel for the customers at that store! I wouldn't give them my business knowing that they are giving people that kind of advice. I work part-time at a LFS here in NY, and usually I'm the one having to explain to customers why they can't put 'Dory' in their biocube. :rolleye1:

ssublime1
01/23/2010, 10:46 PM