PDA

View Full Version : What is a good size sump for a 90 gallon tank?

n72
01/24/2010, 11:11 PM
I'm new at saltwater and will be starting with a 90 gallon tank. Is there a minimum size I should make the sump? What's a good size for the sump? Thanks!:thumbsup:

mlogsdon
01/24/2010, 11:42 PM
I'm new at saltwater and will be starting with a 90 gallon tank. Is there a minimum size I should make the sump? What's a good size for the sump? Thanks!:thumbsup:

as much room as you have,,,,im newbie at sw, but....more volume the better, yhat i do know. so do as large of sump that your storage allows

Falconeer
01/24/2010, 11:44 PM
While more volume is better (so, as big as you can get), i'd wager that a 40gallon ish sump would be a good size.

Daimyo68
01/24/2010, 11:45 PM
Pretty much anything that you can get under the stand and be able to work comfortably around if needed. What do you plan on keeping in the sump? Skimmer, reactors, fuge, etc. All this comes into play.

Your stand dimensions with be the most influential factor.

Flamehawk1221
01/25/2010, 05:04 AM
Ditto.

EllieSuz
01/25/2010, 05:12 AM
Try to design a four compartment sump so you have room for Chaetomorpha in one, skimmer in another and space for intake (and filter sock) and return. You also need to decide whether you want your return pump on the inside or external. Research the footprint needed for the skimmer you will purchase to be sure there is adequate space. Just some of the things to think about.

stevetcg
01/25/2010, 05:58 AM
1000 gallons.

OR... as big as you can get. Dont be afraid to be creative. I have a 3 part sump for my 55 with each part being completly independant of each other (if necessary)

gdsmith56
01/25/2010, 06:07 AM
Research the footprint needed for the skimmer you will purchase to be sure there is adequate space.