PDA

View Full Version : Guys, help me with MH bulb recommendations.

Hurdicuss
02/01/2010, 12:54 AM
Long time t5 user here in transition to metal halide for the new upcoming system. Purchased a new house, therefore new house = new tank :D I am planning for a ~100g cube (34x34x20, 32x32x24, or similar) with a single halide and possible t5 supplements. I have never owned MH lighting myself and am not a total newbie in its realm, but I wanted to open the floor for bulb recommendations. Stocking plan is looking like SPS dominant with some LPS; shooting for vibrant color and excellent growth. Today I picked up a 250w Coral Vue (dimmable) ballast and a Lumen Bright SE reflector from my local reef board. Next addition is the bulb and this is where I had a few questions...

1) What 250w bulb do you recommend?

2) Depending on the color output of your recommendation, do you think I should use t5 actinic supplment?

3) Do you suggest t5 daylight and actinic supplement and run the halide for maximum of 4-6 hours a day?

4) Perhaps a little late since I have already acquired the ballast, but do you think 250w will be sufficient for optimal growth on a cube with the above dimensions, or should I consider stepping up to a 400w?

A couple recommendations from my local reefers has been Phoenix 14k, Reeflux 20k, Radium 20k and Ushio 10k.

Thanks for your time and input. :thumbsup:

Spssteven
02/01/2010, 12:57 AM
I'd go with a radium.
That said my new tank is 24x24x32 om going with 2 250 watt radiums with lumenarc reflectors.
Maybe 2 for you or 1 400 would be the beter way to go.

minhvu
02/01/2010, 01:17 AM
I've been a T5 nut also but on my new cube project, I decided to change things up. I went with pretty much the same light as your with a 250w radium. Great colors plus u just cant beat the shimmer effect

elijaher
02/01/2010, 01:32 AM
It can end up what you like by your eyes. Phoenix 14k be a nice starte

Psionicdragon
02/01/2010, 03:18 AM
1) What 250w bulb do you recommend?