PDA

View Full Version : FYI on INTERCEPTOR

costellow
02/06/2010, 09:45 AM
I am in the veterinary field and thought I would shed some light on what Interceptor is.

I am new to this hobby and have no idea what you use this for as for as a saltwater tank, but...

Interceptor, (milbemycin oxime ) is a heartworm preventative for Dogs. Dogs get heartworms from infected mosquitos. It is a prescription and not sold by anyone but your veterinarian. You cannot just walk into a vet and buy it. Your dog has to be a patient and it has to be prescribed.

So anyway--what good is it in the tank????

Gilby
02/06/2010, 09:52 AM
It gets rid of the infamous red bugs that plague SPS corals.

Whisperer
02/06/2010, 10:04 AM
Any crustacean is fair game to it. Larger shrimps may survive. Crabs, IME, are more susceptible.

Texxxx
02/06/2010, 03:12 PM
The Red Bug is in the same family as the arthropod that causes one of the types of mange in dogs. That is why Interceptor works for our problem bugs.

costellow
02/06/2010, 07:25 PM
but interceptor doesn't treat mange...as I said it's a heartworm preventative.

There are 2 types of mange: Demodex and Sarcoptic (scabies) and neither are treated with interceptor.

Agu
02/06/2010, 08:20 PM
Here's more than you want to know although I can't vouch for the accuracy of the information,

http://www.melevsreef.com/redbugs.html

lubyone1
02/06/2010, 09:37 PM
I am in the veterinary field and thought I would shed some light on what Interceptor is.

I am new to this hobby and have no idea what you use this for as for as a saltwater tank, but...

Interceptor, (milbemycin oxime ) is a heartworm preventative for Dogs. Dogs get heartworms from infected mosquitos. It is a prescription and not sold by anyone but your veterinarian. You cannot just walk into a vet and buy it. Your dog has to be a patient and it has to be prescribed.