PDA

View Full Version : Fragging Zoanthids in the Display Tank?

Nanz
02/15/2010, 09:41 AM
Hi, Im new to fragging...

I have a Zoanthid I want to frag but its like a mat on a large 8 inch rock in my tank. Its not possible to remove this rock without disturing a bunch of corals. Can I just cut the zoa from the rock? Will this release harmful toxins in the tank that will hurt the inhabitants? Will this hurt me? How can I protect myself as well as the tank?

Fizz71
02/15/2010, 09:49 AM
It actually depends on the zoa but IMO fragging in the tank should not be a conern in terms of toxins.

Some zoas mat really thick and once you get under the matt they'll peel away easy. Others mat really thin and are a pain to remove. I would buy a brand new chisel, no bigger then maybe 1/4" to 1/2" (wash it first to remove mfg oils) and see how easy it is to scrape under them. You'll actually be trying to remove a thin layer of rock under the zoa.

I would also spend 30 seconds or so blowing water at them with your hand to get them to retract before you start digging.

Just be careful...the worst part of in tank fragging is breaking a neighbor coral. :( And wash your hands before and after..(no soap before).

Good luck..I hate fragging without removing...I avoid it.

captstinky
02/15/2010, 10:42 AM
Good luck..I hate fragging without removing...I avoid it.

+1

If you have to cut in tank, its a good idea to run some additional carbon. Zoas, at least to humans can be nasty.

thegrun
02/15/2010, 11:19 AM
Wear gloves and eye protection, it isn't worth the risk to go without them.

Nanz
02/15/2010, 11:47 AM
Wear gloves and eye protection, it isn't worth the risk to go without them.

Wear eye protection? If Im fragging underwater how can it effect my eyes?

Anyways I have a colony of bright orange ("SuperNova") zooanthids. They seem to have a small thin mat but cover an 8" rock. I dont know if I can chisel inside the tank. Im afraid I might hit the glass!