PDA

View Full Version : Purple People Eater is Gone!! Time to Celebrate!!

kcsnook
02/16/2010, 09:17 AM
So here is the story:

As a noob I went to LFS and saw this awesome colored Purple fish that I was interested in and decided to purchase. Then getting home to do some research on this cool PURPLE Pseudochromis, I find out they are mean ole' Bas----s. Yes I know i did this in reverse order but you all know how it is, live and learn. He/she of course takes to the nicest piece of Live Rock in my 72 Gallon. He runs off my Diamond Goby and the Diamond Goby only sits at his rock in the far left corner sifting and keeping his home free and clear of rock and coral. Purple guy chases my six line wrasse more than any other inhabitant of the tank. He doesnt even bat an eye at my Midas blenny. So I decide Im going to remove this fish from my tank. I can't even begin to calculate the hours I've spent trying to build the perfect trap, I built every DIY fish trap on Reff Central with no luck. I drove and hour and a half to Orlando to get the smallest hooks I could find from BassPro @ their fly shop and all of this with no success...I have laid awake many nights thinking about the day he is gone from my tank... Which brings us to last night @ 8:45pm. The wife and I were sitting in my office downloading some music when the Purple People Eater starts after the Wrasse, the wrasse goes from one end to the other trying to get away and back to the far left and my wife and I watching this. All of a sudden the wrasse darts up to the top near the over flow and jumps into the over flow, Purple People Eater jumps clear out of tank onto my wood floors right in front of the wife and I!!!! VICTORY I shout with my arms raised in the air, I am in awe that this just happened. I scooped him up and put him in my water change bucket, I swore up and down once I caught him he was going to be fed to the birds or flushed to the Porcelain Gods. I called my LFS and they were still there so I hopped in th