PDA

View Full Version : experience W/different skimmers?

sassyfrassy
02/17/2010, 09:57 AM
I've come to the conclusion that if you ask 10 people re: best skimmer you will get 10 different answers. So I'm going to ask a different way: What SIZE (rated) skimmer should I get for a total volume of 120g possibly heavy on fish? What skimmers are least trouble (less maintenance & problems)? And what skimmers are the best for the money - I'm just starting out and having to buy EVERYTHING. Thanks

jubjub
02/17/2010, 10:32 AM
size ratings are horribly inaccurate imo. i used to have a ASM G2 mesh modded (spec's say it should handle 200gallons) i used this on my 120 total volume tank....was slightly under powered. i upgraded to a bubblemaster 160 (up to 140 gallons 100 gallons heavily stocked) and my bubblemaster pulls ALOT more junk out with the stock sicce pinwheel go figure..

so i guess what im saying each company will spec their skimmers differently. sorry wish i could help better, imo figure out what vertex skimmer be best and just get that if your looking at the under 300$ range

cet98
02/17/2010, 11:23 AM
unfortunately, you have only "rephrased" the same question...and will in turn receive the same "ask 10 people/10 different opinions" responses...

sadly, there is no clear cut "right answer" for anyone's set-up...
there is, and will always be, multiple good selections for everyone...
simply put: there are just too many variables out there to take into account...

FWIW, you will probably be best suited to read something like the Skimmer Q&A Thread (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1589426) and hope that through your readings you can "sift through" enough peoples experiences to determine a good choice for your set-up...
Mojo is the the "resident skimmer guy" with personal experiences with far more skimmers than most and does offer very good recommendations if you choose to ask him.