PDA

View Full Version : Xenia Floating Away

reddogf5
03/03/2010, 06:25 AM
Hi, I am new to this. I bought a xenia last week, it is currently in a quarentine tank with a bubble coral purchased at the same time.
When I purchased it, the LFS tied it to a piece of rock with fishing string. After about two days, it tore free and was floating around the tank. Thinking that the fishing line cut through the stalk, I glued it to the rock with super glue. A day later it was floating free again. I reglued it with superglue gel to a different piece of rock from my main tank, after carefully cleaning and drying the rock. This morning, it is nearly separated again. Originally it was in a bit of current, but has been shielded and is in very low flow.
Any ideas as to why this is happening? Do corals "move"? I can't see it surviving if I can't keep it from lying face down at the bottom of the tank. Any better suggestions to keep it in place? Thanks.

pugcrush
03/03/2010, 10:32 AM
Put a toothpick thru the bottom base & you'll be able to rubber band the toothpick to some rubble rock, that way you can move it to your display tank easily. Give it a few days & within a week it will attach to the rock, where upon you can remove the toothpick/rubberband.

scuba guy ron
03/03/2010, 08:23 PM
+1 on the toothpick. worked for me

wolrey
03/04/2010, 04:49 PM
It is almost impossible to glue xenia down. It just creates to much slim to get a decent bond.

Try squeezing the base of the stalk between two little pieces of rubble or frag plugs. The xenia should attach in a day or two and you can then glue the rubble/plug down where you would like too.

reddogf5
03/05/2010, 07:55 AM
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried it, but there was not enough stalk left to pin. I dried its base off, as well as the rock and reglued it, it seems to be staying put now.

reddogf5
03/08/2010, 09:16 PM
I was reading "Aquarium Corals" by Eric Borneman and came across this: