PDA

View Full Version : Refugium


Grandreef 2
03/06/2010, 01:36 PM
Can I have 2 powerheads connected from my sump to my quarintine tank so I can have a refugium.
http://i841.photobucket.com/albums/zz331/Oceankeeper1/Sump/A2.jpg

Playa-1
03/06/2010, 02:14 PM
I wouldn't set it up that way.

You would be better off elevating the fuge above the sump and then feeding the fuge with either a powerhead or by teeing off of the return line. Then allowing the fuge to gravity drain to back to the sump

jenjen
03/06/2010, 02:17 PM
Absolutely agree with Playa. By setting it up as you have described, if one of those powerheads ever fails you'll have a flood on your hands.

Ron Reefman
03/06/2010, 03:05 PM
If you do it your way, what happens when the pump in the refugium gets clogged the algae and quites pumping, while the pump in the sump keeps running? Ugly!

Grandreef 2
03/06/2010, 08:01 PM
What could be another way of doing it besides by putting the Quarintine tank above the sump? If there even is a way?

Sisterlimonpot
03/06/2010, 08:09 PM
One thing that stands out for me is why are you wanting a QT plumbed into your tank? it kinda defeats the purpose, doesn't it?

reefscape15
03/06/2010, 08:41 PM
One thing that stands out for me is why are you wanting a QT plumbed into your tank? it kinda defeats the purpose, doesn't it?

I agree! If it's a QT, it needs to be isolated from your system completely. If you just want an acclimation section in your system, you can place whatever you want in a fuge, that is if you don't set up a seperate QT

izzy123
03/07/2010, 03:47 AM
if these are plastic sumps, i would simply suggest drilling a hole in both of them ( under the waterline) connecting them with a pvc pipe, and work with one pump to get a flow from the fuge to the sump. then you don't risk a flood in your living room!