PDA

View Full Version : hyposalinity help

tmar77
03/09/2010, 04:20 PM
Hey guys, so I have never done a hypo salinity treatment before and i need some help. I have a pretty general idea of what to do, but it would be great if someone could give me a step by step explanation, in detail. Thanks for your time.

krowleey
03/09/2010, 05:30 PM
your best bet is searching in google. read, read and read some more. it's not difficult but you do HAVE to have a refractometer. Also do not use reef builder PH buffers to raise the PH, use baking soda baked in the oven at 350 for 30 min. Use very small amounts it's ultra powerful.

steelersfan
03/09/2010, 05:48 PM
I am not sure if this is allowed, but here is a step by step instructions for Hyposalinity treatment.

http://www.reefsanctuary.com/forums/fish-diseases-treatments/23131-hyposalinity-treatment-process.html

sfboarders
03/09/2010, 05:50 PM
Directions found here.

http://atj.net.au/marineaquaria/hyposalinity.html

+1 on krowleey's suggestion. Cook the baking soda and mix with RO water. Drip line it in. This is the biggest PITA about hyposalinity

krowleey
03/09/2010, 06:04 PM
I am not sure if this is allowed, but here is a step by step instructions for Hyposalinity treatment.

http://www.reefsanctuary.com/forums/fish-diseases-treatments/23131-hyposalinity-treatment-process.html

that is an excellent write up by Lee Birch. i follow that guide to the letter and never have parasites in my tanks.

steelersfan
03/09/2010, 06:12 PM
that is an excellent write up by Lee Birch. i follow that guide to the letter and never have parasites in my tanks.

:thumbsup: I try to read all of his posts.

krowleey
03/09/2010, 06:19 PM
:thumbsup: I try to read all of his posts.

not to try and hijack this thread, but shoot me a PM about the two vortech's in your tank. Im curious to know if you have sand storms in that 120?

tmar77
03/09/2010, 07:09 PM
thanks for all the replies everyone. Those articles were a big help.

Chris27