PDA

View Full Version : 2 Small leaks at pvc ball valve glued union, Help me please.

Lord Magnus
03/25/2010, 08:13 PM
Hello, I've been playing with my sump design for a long time and today I finally got everything finished and plumbed together which took me a long time, since early morning. This is my very first time (at age of 30) plumbing any PVC, and as such it wasn't perfect.

I have a ball valve that's got 2 pin hole leaks where it was glued. They are quite fast, about 1 drop every 4 seconds probably because it's overflow and there's no pressure.

I applied PVC primer to the two sections to be glued, and when it dried, I applied PVC cement, slid the piece in and twisted 1/4 turn. Then held for 45 seconds.

I've read some people have successfully fixed these types of leaks with Gorilla Glue.

I can't spend any more money right now. As many know here, I was laid off 3 months ago, and this was a major money investment for my tank. So I would rather fix it, even if it's temporary fix, until I can make some more money to fix it properly by replacing the parts which I know is the only way to definitely fix it. BUT, for the moment, I need something fast and cheap.

I have Gorilla Glue. How do I try that? Do I just put it in the joint where the leaks are and that's it?

How long do I wait until I can turn my sump on?

Any input is greatly appreciated. Even if it's a thought, or Idea. I just need some help really bad!

Thank you in advance.

justisathomesea
03/25/2010, 08:19 PM
If you want to try and fix the leak temporary take your glue and go around the outside of where the ball valve and the pipe come together. Just put it on kind of thick, and that should work for a quick fix until you are albe to fix it right.

Lord Magnus
03/25/2010, 08:29 PM
The gorilla glue, right? I put it thick but runs down the pipe a little. Will this fix it for how long approximately?