PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here & a new 55 setup

Nemo4Life
04/01/2010, 06:20 PM
Let me start by sharing a little background info on how I got the tank. Well, I had a 125 that was set up as freshwater and I had no intentions of going saltwater. But then, a friend of mine sold me a 35 gal hex tank/stand and filter for $75. So, I decided to make it a sort of a nano project. I was gonna have a Lemon peel Angel, 2 Clowns, Blue Damsel, and a Purple Pseduochromis. Then I was planning on buying a MH pendant and have some softies and LPS and call it a day. Well, as you all know a 35 is just a teaser, and before I was even able to get the MH pendant(thank God), I decided to go bigger. I was gonna make the 125 I have into a reef-but after much thought and going back and forth-I decided that a 125 would be too much on my time and wallet. So I decided to sell the 125 and get a 65 from Glass Cages. Well I called Glass Cages and told them I wanted the 65 gal, but was informed that they had stopped taking orders for the April 3rd truck and that it would be 6 months or so before they were back in the area-or I could have had it delivered by freight($128 for the tank but $165 FREIGHT). So I decided against it and went looking for another tank. Well I really found a deal, and from who else but the same friend that sold me the 35 hex (oh, BTW-he also sold me the 125 ) Anyway, that is how I came to have a 55 now instead of the 125 or 65. Oh, and I still have the 35 hex-that will be my hospital tank after I get the 55 set up.

Now on to the description of the deal of the century(as far as I am concerned).

55 gallon tank / stand & canopy / overflow box / Top Fathom TF100A Skimmer / 2-Rio 2500 pumps / Wet Dry / Canopy has a 4 bulb 4 ft VHO lighting retro'd into it. All this for......$100 WOW!!

here are some pics

http://i885.photobucket.com/albums/ac57/nemo4life2010/IMG_0010.jpg
http://i885.photobucket.com/albums/ac57/nemo4life2010/IMG_0012.jpg