PDA

View Full Version : Do flow restrictors go bad?

bguile
04/03/2010, 09:39 AM
I've been running your Ocen Reef +1 in my new home for the past 3 years. Up until recently I've been getting a 40-50 PSI reading on my pressure gauge and for the past couple weeks it seems to get barely above 20. I replaced a couple filters including the RO membrane thinking they might have been clogged and restricting flow but the water pressure doesn't seem to change. It seemed that it wasn't until I placed a flow valve on the waste water line that I was able to manipulate the water pressure. Does this indicate a problem with my flow restrictor?

Paul D. York

PS. You guys have some of the best service and best prices I've seen on such quality products!!

Thefilterguys
04/04/2010, 09:09 PM
Tell me more about what you added here?

"It seemed that it wasn't until I placed a flow valve on the waste water line that I was able to manipulate the water pressure."

Jim

bguile
04/05/2010, 08:57 AM
Oh...it's just one of these:

http://thefilterguys.biz/images/14X14QFITQFITHANDVALVE.jpg

I placed it at the end of the waste line and closed it a good bit to raise the pressure gauge to around 40 PSI. The pressure gauge is located in it's original spot between the output of the 3rd filter and the input of the autoshutoff valve I believe.

Thefilterguys
04/06/2010, 12:17 AM
It sounds like you are running the flush valve over the flow restrictor open? When making water it should be in the closed position.

Jim

bguile
04/06/2010, 07:52 AM
It's closed. I'd even tried opening and closing it a few times before changing out the membrane hoping to flush it to see if it would help, but its definitely closed.

Thefilterguys
04/06/2010, 11:03 PM
What connection did you use to connect to a water supply self piercing saddle valve?

Jim

bguile
04/07/2010, 06:58 AM