PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!! PB TANG Question!!

WHATitDOfishies
04/04/2010, 07:55 PM
Hey, i am new to the hobby! :eek1:
i have had this tank for about 2 1/2 mounths.I have a reef 75g tank with 45p of live rock and geting 40p of live rock torrow. i also have live sand. I got a 75g tank, t5 lights, and a 30g sump with a octapus pskimmer.i have 2 corals and one PBT. Today when i got up i saw he was heavy breathing and i dont know what to do b.c i am new to this hobby. I did a 5g water change this morning. hes breathing very fast so idn what to do. Does he need oxgen? How would i go about givin him Oxgen?

prickles
04/04/2010, 08:05 PM
What you need to do is check all your parameters.
Salinity
ph
ammonia
nitrites
nitrates

Are your pumps running? I would say the heavy breathing could be a number of things. My first guess would be ammonia poisoning. If he is hanging out at the top of the tank, then lack of oxygen is more likely.

I would be VERY careful adding more liverock and would not do it all at once because it could cause an ammonia spike which could kill stuff.

If your ammonia or nitrites are not zero, I would recommend a much larger than 5g water change. Depending on the severity of the problem, 25-50% would be what I would do.

WHATitDOfishies
04/04/2010, 08:17 PM
What you need to do is check all your parameters.
Salinity
ph
ammonia
nitrites
nitrates

Are your pumps running? I would say the heavy breathing could be a number of things. My first guess would be ammonia poisoning. If he is hanging out at the top of the tank, then lack of oxygen is more likely.

I would be VERY careful adding more liverock and would not do it all at once because it could cause an ammonia spike which could kill stuff.

If your ammonia or nitrites are not zero, I would recommend a much larger than 5g water change. Depending on the severity of the problem, 25-50% would be what I would do.