PDA

View Full Version : what is this on my live rock i just got

gstatus
04/06/2010, 08:58 PM
first i would like to say i am very new to salt water tank and i just bought some live rock and when i got home to put it in my tank i realized that there was some stuff on it and with me being very new i had no clue as to what it is so heres some pics and it would be awsome if some one could tell me what they are what to feed them and lighting i need tank is 10 gallons i have an aqua clear filter for 50 gallons and i have a 4 t5 HO light fixture so im open to bulb recomendations also tank has only been up for like a week

100%hydrophylic
04/06/2010, 09:03 PM
1.) cant really tell. looks kinda like a not-so-green green start polyp. or maybe daisy polyps. idk. something in that general area lol. doesn't look malignant from that angle.

2.) aiptasia. evil. research how to kill it (joes juice/aiptasia x)

3.) valonia. reef herpes as ive seen it called lol. its green bubble algae. its not bad bad, but its ugly and can spread rapidly. try hard not to pop them. i have had good luck with emerald crabs eating it

looks like you got some nice Coraline encrusted rock however, kudos on the good first time buy

Ali :D
04/06/2010, 09:04 PM
Ok the first I'm not sure but the second looks like Aiptasia = not good. The third is bubble algae and thats not good either. As far as removing the aiptasia try a turkey baster with RO water, squirting it on the plate and that may kill it, if there are a few maybe trying some Aiptasia X or joe's juice on them. The bubble algae i have little experience with and someone will be along soon to help out

Ali

100%hydrophylic
04/06/2010, 09:07 PM