PDA

View Full Version : "Ich" & QT time?

Asureef
04/12/2010, 09:51 PM
Looks like my fishes got re-infected. About two months ago, I had two true percula showing symptoms of ich, which they fought off in just 4days after I supplemented their food with garlic and vitamins. Three weeks ago I introduced a new baby blue tang, he showed no signs of ich for two weeks in QT. Though, just after two days he became heavily infected in my DT. Of course, that in turn infected the rest, excluding the two clowns and a orange prawn goby. I've read gobies are more resisted to ich, is this true? I will be removing all fish from DT to QT and treating with coppersafe. I've read mixed answers on time period, I've seen anywhere from 2 weeks to 30days and even 60-90days?

Raf1985
04/12/2010, 10:54 PM
I'm no expert but 3-4 weeks usually does it for me.

Chris27
04/13/2010, 08:10 AM
Nix the coppersafe - use cupramine or strait up copper sulfate instead. Either product is more effective, I've used coppersafe in the past, and crypt was able to weather the storm so to speak.

As for the time frame, 3-4 weeks is a great suggestion, however you'll also want to leave the display fishless for about 4-5 weeks to eradicate the parasite from there.

Asureef
04/13/2010, 06:16 PM
Nix the coppersafe - use cupramine or strait up copper sulfate instead. Either product is more effective, I've used coppersafe in the past, and crypt was able to weather the storm so to speak.

As for the time frame, 3-4 weeks is a great suggestion, however you'll also want to leave the display fishless for about 4-5 weeks to eradicate the parasite from there.

Do I do an additional 4-5weeks after I treat the fishes in QT? The display tank will be fish-less through out the treatment. I'm thinking 6 weeks total, or do I need to go longer?

Chris27
04/14/2010, 08:11 AM
6 weeks from the time the last fish is removed from the display....treat the fish while the display lays fallow.

Recty
04/14/2010, 09:22 AM