PDA

View Full Version : apex Dose program question


cmacld
04/12/2010, 11:12 PM
I would like to get my 2part to dose 30 min offset of each other.. is there some way that i can write that in with the OSC code?

Here is what it reads now

CALCIUM
--------------
FALLBACK OFF
OSC /5:30/54:30
IF PH > 8.3 THEN OFF
IF FEEDA THEN OFF
IF ALK ON THEN OFF


ALK
-------
FALLBACK OFF
OSC /5:30/54:30
IF FEEDA THEN OFF
IF PH > 8.3 THEN OFF
IF CAL ON THEN OFF

thanks,

ChuckG
04/12/2010, 11:22 PM
Here is what I use.. each is set to pump for 17 seconds.. alk at the top of the hour and calcium at the bottom. Seems to work for me but I suggest you verify before trusting it.

ALK

Fallback OFF
OSC 000:00/000:17/059:43 Then ON
If pH > 08.20 Then OFF


Calcium

Fallback OFF
OSC 030:00/000:17/029:43 Then ON
If pH > 08.20 Then OFF


More at this link http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1805133

swearint
04/13/2010, 07:20 AM
As Chuck shows in his code, the OSC has three parameters. The first parameter is offset from midnight:

OSC 000:00/005:00/010:00 Then ON

this would be OFF for zero minutes starting at midnight, ON for five minutes, then OFF for ten minutes and then repeat.

OSC 010:00/005:00/000:00 Then ON

this would be OFF for ten minutes starting at midnight, ON for five minutes, then OFF for zero minutes, and then repeat.

So used together, they both would run five ON - ten OFF, offset from each other by ten minutes. I find it helps to draw out a timeline when trying to synchronize two or more devices.

So your code would look like this:

CALCIUM
--------------
Fallback OFF
OSC 000:00/005:30/054:30
If pH > 8.3 Then OFF
If Outlet [LIGHTS] = ON Then OFF
If FeedA 000 Then OFF

ALK
-------
Fallback OFF
OSC 030:00/005:30/024:30
If pH > 8.3 Then OFF
If Outlet [LIGHTS] = ON Then OFF
If FeedA 000 Then OFF

You don't need to turn one outlet OFF if the other is ON, since they are synch'ed. I also added a statement to only allow dosing at night, ie when the lights are OFF. If you have not already read it, Alan's User Guide has a lot of helpful info: http://reeftech.webs.com/

Todd

cmacld
04/13/2010, 05:36 PM
OK so then how does this look

i want the alk to pump 5.5 sec every 30 minutes
and the cal to pump 5.5 sec every 30 minutes but offset by 10 min

how does this look

CALCIUM
--------------
FALLBACK OFF
OSC /5:30/30:00 THEN ON
IF PH > 8.3 THEN OFF
IF FEEDA 010 THEN OFF
IF ACTINICS = ON THEN OFF


ALK
-------
FALLBACK OFF
OSC 10:00/5:30/20:00 then ON
IF PH > 8.3 THEN OFF
IF FEEDA 010 THEN OFF
IF ACTINICS = ON THEN OFF


thanks

cmacld
04/13/2010, 06:09 PM
im also having problems inputing my "IF outlet" command
Did i write this wrong?

thanks

cmacld
04/13/2010, 06:34 PM
OK here is what i have done as i cant get the outlet command to work...

CALCIUM
--------------
FALLBACK OFF
OSC /5:30/30:00 THEN ON
IF PH > 8.3 THEN OFF
IF FEEDA 010 THEN OFF
IF SUN 240/240 THEN OFF


ALK
-------
Fallback OFF
OSC 010:00/005:30/020:00 Then ON
If pH > 08.30 Then OFF
If FeedA 010 Then OFF
If Sun 240/240 Then OFF


i think that should take care of it ...
any thoughts?
thanks

aquamanic
04/13/2010, 06:46 PM
im also having problems inputing my "IF outlet" command
Did i write this wrong?

The syntax is as follows:

If Outlet [outlet name] = [on/off] then [on/off/profile]

cmacld
04/13/2010, 06:54 PM
so i need to add brackets to the on and off commands?
like this

If Outlet [actinics] =[on] then [off]

?? sorry if im an idiot

aquamanic
04/13/2010, 07:35 PM
No.

If Outlet actinics = on then off

The brackets are there to show the programming options.

cmacld
04/13/2010, 07:39 PM
copy that
something weird here with the labeling of the outlet
when i input it like this..

If Outlet actinics = on then off

i get a syntax error.. saying no outlet with such name
might this have something to do with me running 4.01 firmware?

aquamanic
04/13/2010, 07:57 PM
It's just saying you don't have an outlet named 'actinics'. Do you?

Go to your web pages, select configuration - outlet setup. The drop-down box will show you all your outlet names.

cmacld
04/13/2010, 11:40 PM
yes my outlet is named ACTINICS
that is what i dont understand...

and tonight when my dosing started the two pumps started at the same time..
should they not start 10 min apart with this code?

also they dont seem to want to stop running... i had to manually turn off the ALK (as they started at the same time) and the cal is still running...

where have i screwed up here?

CALCIUM
--------------
FALLBACK OFF
OSC /5:30/30:00 THEN ON
IF PH > 8.3 THEN OFF
IF FEEDA 010 THEN OFF
IF SUN 240/240 THEN OFF


ALK
-------
Fallback OFF
OSC 010:00/005:30/020:00 Then ON
If pH > 08.30 Then OFF
If FeedA 010 Then OFF
If Sun 240/240 Then OFF

RussM
04/14/2010, 12:25 AM
You have the OSC statements set to have them run for 5.5 minutes. OSC timing is mmm:ss format. You cannot do partial seconds, i.e. 5.5 seconds like you want. So, if you change the second parameter in each to 0:05, they should go for 5 seconds.

cmacld
04/14/2010, 01:13 AM
im trying to get 5.5 minutes, you must have misread.. thanks though

i think i have got it now
thanks everyone

RussM
04/14/2010, 01:20 AM
Or you mistyped in post #4 ;)

mikebow16
04/14/2010, 08:20 PM
someone correct me if I'm wrong but I think it is case sensitive

aquamanic
04/14/2010, 08:48 PM
Mike, you are correct. The outlet names are case sensitive. Good catch.

cmacld
04/15/2010, 09:07 AM
Ahhh touché !! Sorry your right I
did say 5 sec... Oops

case sensitive it is...
Thanks guys

RussM
04/15/2010, 10:04 AM
Ahhh touché !! Sorry your right I
did say 5 sec... OopsLOL NP. My fingers often type something other than what I was thinking as well ;)