PDA

View Full Version : lighting and other equipment

zeroeffect
04/14/2010, 08:11 PM
I'm new to the salt water tank community and had a question on lighting.

I have a 125gal tank that we are getting ready to start. We have most of the equipment ordered and should be getting it in friday.

Now in 6 weeks when it's time to start getting other types of equipment like lighting what do you all suggest? I've been looking at the T5 lighting.

Also I was told at the fish store that I will need Two Mp40 ES's And I'm happy with getting that but I haven't been able to really find any good reviews on them. Can anyone point me in the way?

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong area of the forums. But it kinda looks like the spot.

If anyone has any good info for me please feel free to post or send me a message. Again I'm new to the salt water tank area and any help/info given is going to help me out.

AaronReeph
04/14/2010, 10:59 PM
Welcome to Reef Central!

A lot of these decisions (like lighting and water movement) are personal decisions that you should make judging by your own needs and what you want to keep in your tank.

If you want to keep a tank with just fish and live rock, then you don't need any special lighting at all. If you want to keep LPS corals, you have a few options, if you want to keep SPS corals, or clams or more light intensive critters, then your options are much better defined (and more expensive).