PDA

View Full Version : SPS coral and manual dosing

zbrook1
04/19/2010, 03:40 PM
I have a 75 gal. tank with a 20 gal.sump. I have been keeping soft corals in it since its inception a few years ago. I manually dose the tank as needed (IE.no calcium reactor etc,etc.) I would like to try to keep a few SPS if possible. My lighting consists of 2 150w HQI an 2 96w actinic and 4 led moon lights. tank parameters are good-alk,cal,etc,etc. Has anybody have good luck with this. I dont mind manual dosing-it helps connect me to my tank.

KJAhp098
04/19/2010, 04:44 PM
Many people have great success with sps and manual dosing. Just be sure to watch your alk, ca, and mag consumption.

EasyEd77
04/19/2010, 04:45 PM
Go buy a few frags and see how they do. Sounds like you have enough light if that's what your worried about. Try a birds nest coral or some sort of monti or chalice. These are more forgiving SPS corals. If you are manually dosing two part for calcium and alk you may want to look into automating it with bulkreefsupply.com two part dosing pump. I don't see anything wrong with doing it manually as long as your levels are staying somewhat constant.

Good Luck

TheWeaz
04/19/2010, 04:52 PM
try a birds nest coral or some sort of monti

+1

jmoney
04/19/2010, 04:53 PM
i have the exact same setup as you, like they said just watch your parameters, and keep them stable you should be fine

zbrook1
04/19/2010, 06:09 PM
Thanks, I was thinking of a frag of monti at first.As of right now I have only been dosing with 2 part bi-onic. Is there anything else I should dose, Marine Snow?,anything for mag?

jmoney
04/20/2010, 12:30 PM