PDA

View Full Version : Moving..TWICE -> Advice Please!

aykim2188
04/29/2010, 12:33 AM
I am a college student and I have a problem. I will be moving out at the end of the summer. The problem is that I have to move out 10 days before I can move into my new apartment. What should I do w/ my reef tank? Do I have to set it up for 10 days then disassemble it again and set it up again?

The apartment I am moving into is only 10 minutes from where I am now but the problem is that I have to leave my old apartment 10 days before I can move into the new one. What should I do?

I have a 20 gallon tank w/ about 30-35 pounds of liverock, 1.5 inch of fine live sand, and 4 fish.

Please help! I have been stressed for a couple weeks because of this :[

matt880305
04/29/2010, 12:36 AM
do you have a friends you can keep your tank at for those 10 days?

aykim2188
04/29/2010, 12:44 AM
Yes he is an avid reefkeeper (fragboy94 on reefcentral) and he also lives about 10 minutes from both my old and new apartment.

matt880305
04/29/2010, 12:47 AM
then yes you want to move the tank twice. save as mush of the water as possible when you move it also

aykim2188
04/29/2010, 01:04 AM
So should I get like 5-6 5gallon buckets and just divide the water/lr/ and fish between them?

Also how much water should I leave in the tank itself? Also do I have to place the tank on plywood in order to move it?

Dont Ask Me
04/29/2010, 04:38 AM
Buy a few 5g drums with screw on/removable lids. Place all your live rock in one with Enough water to cover it also stick your inverts in there, the remaining water put in another drum with your fish and leave enough water to cover your substrate in your tank.