PDA

View Full Version : Quarantine and number fish

Jake007
05/04/2010, 10:09 AM
I am new to QT since I alway went direct into the DT for years. I tried QT over the last two months in a 10G tank using established rock and manged to kill everything I put in there (mostly chromis). Very frustrating..... I am officially done with wanting chromis.... So I let the tank, filter, media, rocks etc bake in the sun until dry for a few days just to kill anything bad in there.

Anyway, I am giving the QT idea a fresh start so I bought a 20gal tank with hopes to QT a couple fish at a time. The tank is recently setup and I am just establishing the bacteria. I am adding the bacteria starter from Seachem everyday. I plan to wait 2 weeks before adding any fish. I plan to run cupramine for all new arrivals.

How many fish can I quarantine in a 20G tank with HOB filter running sponge with two sets of bio media type bags? I also have 4 pcs of live rock 2" dedicated only for this tank. I want to avoid the high AMN issues as I am not big on frequent water changes if I can avoid them.

RegalAngel
05/04/2010, 02:59 PM
I am new to QT since I alway went direct into the DT for years. I tried QT over the last two months in a 10G tank using established rock and manged to kill everything I put in there (mostly chromis). Very frustrating..... I am officially done with wanting chromis.... So I let the tank, filter, media, rocks etc bake in the sun until dry for a few days just to kill anything bad in there.

Anyway, I am giving the QT idea a fresh start so I bought a 20gal tank with hopes to QT a couple fish at a time. The tank is recently setup and I am just establishing the bacteria. I am adding the bacteria starter from Seachem everyday. I plan to wait 2 weeks before adding any fish. I plan to run cupramine for all new arrivals.