PDA

View Full Version : led heatsink?

uireef
05/05/2010, 07:29 PM
Hi I'm doing a 48" heatsink led fixture with 24 cree 3w leds. Ok my plan is to mount the leds on a aluminum plate the length of the heat sink. Doing this so I can mount the leds on the bottom and have the wire on the other side. I plan on spacing the plate about an inch or less from the heatsink. Will the heatsink still work as if the leds were mounted to it? Also I'm running a ati powermodule down the middle. How many dimcables do I need to run the leds and powermodule with the apex?

SnowManSnow
05/05/2010, 09:22 PM
I'm NO EXPERT as some here are, but IMO you'll loose a GREAT DEAL of effectiveness of the sink by doing that.

If you want to just hide the wires. You can drill holes in the sink and run the wires up and through the fins.

B

uireef
05/06/2010, 01:05 AM
Ok thanks. Save me some doe. As much as as spending on this I want to make it look worth it.

der_wille_zur_macht
05/06/2010, 06:55 AM
You might as well toss the heatsink if you're going to do that, and just use lots of air movement (fans) against the aluminum plate.

I concur with SnowManSnow regarding hiding the wires - just put holes next to each LED and feed through that. Of course, you want to make sure the wires aren't in danger of rubbing/catching on burrs on those holes and cutting the insulation.

uireef
05/06/2010, 08:47 AM
So ill mount everything on the heatsink and get some mesh sheet of metal and put holes in it for the leds.

Dustin1300
05/06/2010, 09:09 AM
Why not watercool the heatsink like my computer? Great heat reduction and little/no fans needed thus reducing the noise and increasing the life of the LED by keeping temps down? This is a crazy idea (DIY forum, right?!?) but you can pick up these kits relatively cheap.

der_wille_zur_macht
05/06/2010, 09:21 AM
So ill mount everything on the heatsink and get some mesh sheet of metal and put holes in it for the leds.