PDA

View Full Version : Just did my first water test... A little confused.

jailbird371
05/11/2010, 10:03 AM
First I have to say the testing kit that came with my 29 gallon "starter kit" doesn't measure Nitrates....W T F?

Gravity - between 1.021 & 1.022
Ph - 8
Temp - 76F-78F
Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - <0.3
Nitrate - who knows?! :furious:

I'm confused because the tank has been only set up for 8 days, 6 of which were with 40lbs of LR straight out of my LFS's tanks. Should my ammonia and nitrites be that low already? I'm going to get a new testing kit tomorrow so I can get all the info i need. Do you recommend the strips of the drops?

BTW I'm very new at all this.

footballdude2k3
05/11/2010, 10:13 AM
never ever at any time consider strips, drops are needed they are much more accurate, your gravity is too low for my tase, i would bring it to 1.025-1.027. if you got the live rock straight out of the tank and they were not out of the water very long, you likely would not have much of a cycle. try to put some fish food in the tank for a few days and test to see if it goes up noticably, if not you should be good to go to start to put a little in, but remember the longer you wait, the safer it is.

phenom5
05/11/2010, 10:18 AM
Depending on the quality of LR, it could have been a quick cycle. Did you see any kind of ammonia at some point?

I would definitely pick up a new kit to verify the results. Definitely drops over strips. The API basic kit would be a good choice. Reasonably priced, and pretty accurate.

I'd also suggest slowly bringing your SG up to 1.025-1.026.

bmiller1234
05/11/2010, 10:30 AM
Before adjusting salinity are you using a refractometer or a needle indicator? The plastic needle ones are far from accurate and can be way off.

Other than that +1 on what everyone else said. With good cured rock your cycle will be short if at all.

jailbird371
05/11/2010, 10:47 AM
I have one of these.

http://www.petco.com/Assets/product_images/5/5137802503C.jpg