PDA

View Full Version : water flow

helmke
05/15/2010, 12:28 PM
I'm in the process of putting together a 55g tank that I bought used. I've decided to go with a sump/refugium system and am waiting for that unit to arrive. For that, I'll need an overflow box and return pump. As I understand it, optimum flow in my tank should be 20x the volume of the tank. I have two 802 powerheads mounted each generating 400 gph. So ideally, I'll need 300 gph flowing through the sump. Assuming 6 feet of head pressure, if I put a pump rated at 640 gph and an overflow rated at 300 gph, am I asking for trouble? What are to drawbacks of using a 600 gph overflow box anywhy?

Thanks in advance for your help.

John

Hal
05/15/2010, 01:07 PM
To answer your last question first, there are no drawbacks to using a 600 gph overflow. It just means that the water will only trickle over the overflow (which is fine) instead of using all of the area between the teeth. Again, that's fine. As a former engineer, I highly recommend that you use an overflow that exceeds the max flowrate of your pump. Keep in mind that over time the space between the teeth of your overflow will get gummed up with algae and whatnot unless/until you clean it. Also keep in mind that you'll need to have an overflow rated for the 600 gph as well as the drain plumbing rated for 600 gph, taking into account the pipe diameter and any bends/turns or other restrictions (e.g. a valve). I've been using a Lifereef overflow for 5 years and like it very much, especially that the siphon will automatically restart after a power outage. Given my druthers though, I'd drill my tank if I had to do it again.