PDA

View Full Version : Getting LR & LS from a crashed tank

reefer_al
05/17/2010, 12:00 PM
Hey guys,

Im completely new to the marine side of the hobby. Have been keeping freshwater setups for a while, and finally made the move. To warm myself up, im setting up a 35 gallon FOWLRLS tank. I wanted to use the Berlin method of filteration, so I dont intend to use a mechanical filter. Just a skimmer, LR & LS.

Now I managed to find someone with a mature tank, who was selling exactly the amount of LR & LS I needed. I went to pick up the stuff, and found out that his tank was in a pretty bad state. Was having a decomposed fish floating, a dead starfish rotting and some half dead anemone. Looked like he gave up on his tank, when waiting for a customer to buy all the sellable stuff. There was just a surviving cardinal and some snails that were the surviving inhabitants.

When taking out the LS, pockets of H2S erupted, and the whole room was smelling like a drain. His sand had compacted badly at the lower levels, and was stinking (i powdered these compacted cakes of sand before using them myself). I came and rinsed it well with a saltwater and got most of the stink out. The LR on the other hand had a really nice coat of Coraline algae, some attached red marine algae and some round leaved green plants.

Now im wondering whether my rocks are dead/semidead or live. Same with the sand. I suspect that most of the organisms must have been killed off. I just saw some snails. No Birtleworms, shrimps and little critters at all.
And to top it off, my coraline algae is dissapearing (I still havent got the blue spectrum lights, skimmer. Has just been shipped).