PDA

View Full Version : Stocking List 210

Opah
05/19/2010, 08:01 AM
I plan to get a standard 210 glass tank. I am new to fowlr and hope to get some suggestions. I currently have several tanks including a 120.

Current fish intended for 210:

Volitan Lion
Harlequin Tuskfish
Blonde Naso Tang
Blue Dot Grouper
Sargassum Trigger

I would like to add a couple (1-2) more fish to the 210.

Potential additions:
Another Tang (maybe a yellow, purple or sailfin?)
Large Angelfish (any that won't nip at lion?)
Dwarf Angel (any that won't get eaten by lion?)
Another lion (perhaps radiata?)
Marine Betta

Not sure how I feel about these:
Butterfly (have no experience with these)
Foxface/Rabbitfish
Hogfish

Would love an eel but my wife hates them...

All input greatly appreciated.

LisaD
05/19/2010, 08:10 AM
I have a 210. IMO the Naso tang may eventually outgrow your tank. Not sure about the grouper.

You could add another tang. IMO, purple tangs can be quite aggressive. Sailfin tangs are beautiful, but can get quite large. A yellow tang would stay a good size and add color and shouldn't be too aggressive. Personally, I like mimic (chocolate) tangs very much. They stay reasonable sized, have beautiful finnage, mellow personalities, and while subtle, I really like the adult coloration. Juvie coloration is bright yellow, mimicking the lemonpeel angelfish.

An angelfish should be fine. Maybe limit to medium sized angels. Look into some of the the Chaetodontoplus (not sure I spelled that right) genus, or maybe the swallowtail angels (Genicanthus). I have a blue spotted angel, really a nice fish, gets about 6 inches. I also have a blue face and emperor angel in my tank, but expect to have to upgrade to over 300 gallons in the next few years. A majestic angel is one of the larger angels that does not get too big.