PDA

View Full Version : is this normal? what to do?

Jd205
05/30/2010, 11:37 AM
After 4 or 5 days of my parameters showing ph 8.1, 0 trite, 0 amm, and my trate at 20-40 I added 8 small turbos 4 small crabs, and a shrimp. This was 2 days ago. I just tested my parameters and now showing amm .25, trite .5, trate 40. I acclimated by drip method and fresh water dip, and did not put lfs water in my tank. My only guess is that something has died somewhere out of sight or maybe a small spike is normal after adding first livestock. I plan on doing a massive water change as soon as I can. What would you guys do to fix and what else could have caused this? I really dont want anything to die, even if its just a cuc... I am still learning so any thoughts or questions welcome.
Thanks for any help

Palting
05/30/2010, 11:42 AM
I saw from your prior post that you were day 12 on the 24th. That makes you day 18 today, barely 3 weeks. Your tank is still cycling, buddy.

Unfortunately, it seems you jumped the gun. You have two choices. One, take the CUC back to the LFS for safekeeping, and follow your parameters until that ammonia and trite comes back down. Trate is not such a big deal. Or two, do frequent large water changes to stay ahead of that ammonia, like maybe every other day. This will help keep your CUC alive, but will slow the cycle down.

That's my opinion, only. Maybe someone else has a better handle on it.

Jd205
05/30/2010, 11:51 AM
I used fully cured lr and ls and checked my parameters every day. Once I went to 0 on amm and trite I did a 50% water change and checked every day and was still at 0 for 4 days before adding the cuc. I might be new to this but based on everything I have read and the lfs guy's advice, It seems as though the tank had been cycled... Even if its not how are you helping me fix this?

Palting
05/30/2010, 11:54 AM