PDA

View Full Version : tank cooling idea. Would it work?

d1greenfish
06/16/2010, 10:44 AM
I live in an apartment without ac and during the summer temps can sometimes hit 100 degrees. I'm a poor college student and don't have the money for a chiller, nor do i have the time to stay home and switch out ice bottles all day. What i do have is $5 for a cheap ice cooler and ice machine. So my idea is basically to set up a closed loop into the cooler. The tubing would coil several times in the cooler, then back out to the tank. I'm sure somebody has thought of this before and was wondering if anyone knows whether it would work or not. I have about 40gal total water volume. Thanks!

also if this would work, what kind of tubing should be used inside the cooler that won't insulate the water passing through too much?

jtrasap
06/16/2010, 11:47 AM
Maybe a cheap window AC unit would be a better investment....8-)

reefbat
06/16/2010, 12:01 PM
Sounds like it would do the job cheaply but you'd probably want to give it a test run a time or two before trusting it while your away to see just about how long it will effectively cool. I would think just the standard vinyl tubing would be fine since your going to be coiling it several times in the cooler, mabye even put layers of ice between each coil.

LeGaCYWinZ
06/16/2010, 12:02 PM
Maybe a cheap window AC unit would be a better investment....8-)

I know(at least at my school) most landlords won't permit window AC or space heaters, so it may be out of the question for him. However if you can have one, I would say this is the way to go.

B-Willz
06/16/2010, 12:08 PM
I have heard of this but never seen it in action. They used refridgerator water line tubing, it was like 30 ft of tubing, it comes in a small coil so you can fit all of it in a small cooler. Put a small pump on one side from the sump and let pour pack into the sump.

GKill
06/16/2010, 12:25 PM