PDA

View Full Version : New guy with lots of questions

panda bb
06/16/2010, 12:02 PM
Hey guys and gals, my names Dane, I live in Ocean Springs, MS. I am 25 and I am new to RC, had the owner of a nice fish store in Mobile tell me about the site and thought I would check it out since I am about to convert my 72 bow front to salt water.

It is currently freshwater with about 10 Parrot fish and some Cichlids of different kinds. It is being filtered by 2 AquaClear 110 HOB filters, I have about 80 lbs of crushed coral, Hydor Koralia 4, and I just bought my WavePoint T5 HO 4 bulb light last week and will be getting a RO-DI machine thing this weekend.

When I convert to salt I will be ditching the crushed coral for live sand, I've heard a lot of bad stories about CC and just like the look of sand in a marine tank. I would also like a different filtration system, not sure how well the aquaclear's will do in a marine tank eventhough I am moving 1000gph with them.

does anyone have any suggestions to what kind of filtration system I should use or are the two HOB filters good for a FOWLR setup? Links would be greatly appreciated.

also since I have installed the WavePoint T5 light, I can not keep my water clear, what is the trick to this?

sorry for the long intro and I would post pics but I know you guys dont wanna see my freshwater setup :hmm4:

amr952
06/16/2010, 12:43 PM
You do not really need to run a filtration system on a saltwater tank if you have enough live rock and a live sand bed. The rock and sand as well as a clean up crew handle most of this for you.

If you can afford it you should strive to get a skimmer which will help a lot with particulates in the water.

Do you plan to have a sump?

Uncle Salty 05
06/16/2010, 12:49 PM
You do not really need to run a filtration system on a saltwater tank if you have enough live rock and a live sand bed.

?

You're kidding right?