PDA

View Full Version : mechanical float vs electric float switch vs optical level switch???

coralcruze
06/27/2010, 02:03 PM
setting up a water top off and I want to implement the best possible float switches ect. has anyone used an optical level switch? similar to one of these... http://www.dwyer-inst.com/Products/Product.cfm?Group_ID=16&sPageName=Ordering

I was wondering how well it worked? what is the maintenance on these devices? how long do they generally last? any brand to use over the other? thanks

-Scott-
06/28/2010, 08:17 PM
Good question! Personally I'm a fan of electric but Ive never used an optical so I couldnt say.

werdlone
06/28/2010, 10:39 PM
the tunze osmolator uses an optical/electronic sensor and works flawlessly. I have been running it for over 2 years now. I did replace the pump, but the sensor and backup shut off float have worked great. Looking at the price for the electronic sensors, might as well get the tunze system. To just answer your question, float valves can stick if there is salt creep or build up. the electronic is probably more reliable....

MplsMan
06/28/2010, 10:52 PM
i have 2 of these wires into my top off:
http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&q=liquid+level+float+switch&cid=3290567489929661667&ei=f3spTLrlEpGENtmy8DU&sa=title&ved=0CAcQ8wIwADgA#p
i have 1 for lower level and the other higher in case of failure, never had a problem in over a year.

das75
06/30/2010, 09:36 AM
For the last 5 years been using a simple mechanical humidifier float valve for my ATO and zero problems. No salt creep issues as it's continually flushed with rodi water.

Now have come across more than a few posts where peoples fancy optical/electrical/magnetic switches or the circuitry failed and only one where a mechanical float valve failed and that due a crack in the float (one I have has open bottom chambers so no worries there).

btw my valve goes for about 10 bucks at HD, no controller or pump needed. KISS

teesquare
06/30/2010, 10:01 AM