PDA

View Full Version : Switched from B-Ionic to Bulk Reef Supply?

jfingers8
07/02/2010, 01:47 PM
I have just ordered a package for my CA,ALK,MG dosing from B-Ionic to Bulk Reef Supply obviously for the fact that BRS is much cheaper. My question is, is there going to be a big difference is the amount that i dose daily between the 2?

Cozmo4
07/02/2010, 03:30 PM
I found the BRS product to be far more diluted if mixed per the directions. It's still quite a bit cheaper, but you'll have to increase the amount you put in.

Potsy
07/02/2010, 03:51 PM
The website has a calculator that will tell you precisely the amount of additive needed for a certain gain in alk/calcium. I've been using BRS two-part for four years and don't remember how compares to B-Ionic as far as concentration goes, but after a while, you'll just learn to adjust if there are any differences.

d0ughb0y
07/02/2010, 04:01 PM
though a minor issue, brs 2 part can increase your salinity over time while b-ionic does not (I think that's what it claims in their product description).
in brs 2 part, sodium in sodium bicarbonate combines with chloride from calcium chloride to form sodium chloride = salt.

chuckreef
07/02/2010, 04:22 PM
last post is not entirely accurate.

outy
07/02/2010, 07:25 PM
last post is not entirely accurate.

+1

it would depend on the size of your tank, on a 10g maybe it would but in my 100g after 6 years my salinity never changed and I didnt do a water change in 4 years so I would have known.

in 120g true water volume with a ato dripping kalk. I use about 10 tbs mixed in ro/di water in a drinking glass for cal about once a week to every other week and about 6tbs of baked baking soda and my corals flurish

d0ughb0y
07/02/2010, 11:28 PM
that's why it is a minor, perhaps a non issue.