PDA

View Full Version : 200 gallon stocklist help and criticism

SantaCruzReefer
07/06/2010, 09:45 PM
Ive recently came across a 200 gallon acrylic aquarium with a 100 gallon sump for $150.Is that the deal of the century or what? I need to get some equipment still so that is in the works right now. The tank is going to be a full reef setup with lots of lps and am going to get into sps. However I want to have an appropriate set up with an appropriate stocklist to match.

Here's the stocklist im thinking of right now:
Blue Hippo Tang
Sailfin tang OR yellow tang
Leopard wrasse
Flame angelfish
Yellow clown goby

Now im sure I can add a few more reef fish right? Do I need to change something to avoid problems later on? Tell me what I need to do the stocklist and make some fish suggestions. Dont sugar coat it.

Also can anybody suggest a good skimmer for my tank and some good Metal Halides that in your experience is reliable. I have 6 years of saltwater fish experience if that means anything.

GhostCon1
07/06/2010, 09:50 PM
No offense, but if you have six years of experience with saltwater fish you should already know that your stocking list is fine, unless somehow your tank has extremely wierd dimensions.

You could put quite a bit more in there as well, but your two zebrasoma tangs may pick on each other, they are the same body shape. I've heard conflicting reports of people keeping different zebrasoma sp with problems and without problems. By this I mean keeping like 3-5 of them will all of them being different.

MyDogIsStill#1
07/06/2010, 09:56 PM
No that's all wrong, you should let me buy the tank.

My first suggestion would be to get it all set up first before even thinking of fish. Make sure you leak test it outside. That's a really too good of a deal, so fill it with water outside first.