PDA

View Full Version : Cree xpg LED setup Help Please!

Machupicchu
07/08/2010, 01:24 AM
I need some help figuring out what i need to run some LEDs on my nano.

I was planning on using 9 cool white Cree XP-G high powered Emitters http://ledsupply.com/creexpg-w139.php
to power my 12gal nano w/ 2 24watt dual actinic PCs.

So each one of these things uses about 3.52 (lets say 3.6 to be safe)volts when ran at a max amperage of 1500mA. (yeah thats~450 lumens per Emitter :wink:) So thats a total of 32.4 volts and ~ 48watts.

Pleeeeease correct me if im wrong im not an electrician and iv never worked with LEDs. :hmm4:

Soo, now what i need to know is what to do in between the power outlet and the LEDs themselves. I think what i need (and again please correct me if im wrong thats what im here for) is a driver, or two, that will run 1500mA (or at least >1200mA), at more then 32 volts, with ~60 watts or more of power?

Again i dont know how this works so any input helps. Iv heard of people using something called buckpucks but i think they only run at 1000mA.

I Also wouldnt mind getting two drivers if it makes it easier, as i could control the lighting better with timers. I dont care about dimming so i dont think i need a regulator, unless there is some way i could hook it up to my reefkeeper lite to control dimming?

Anything helps thanks guys.

westmoorenerd
07/08/2010, 05:07 AM
One MeanWell ELN-60-48 driver can drive your 9 LEDs at 1.3A...Also the D series is easily controllable with a 1-10v dimmer signal.

der_wille_zur_macht
07/08/2010, 06:02 AM
Soo, now what i need to know is what to do in between the power outlet and the LEDs themselves. I think what i need (and again please correct me if im wrong thats what im here for) is a driver, or two, that will run 1500mA (or at least >1200mA), at more then 32 volts, with ~60 watts or more of power?