PDA

View Full Version : I want to spread out my vodka dosing

SDguy
07/14/2010, 07:36 AM
I've been vodka dosing for a while now. My tank generally takes a consistent 30-40mL per day. I'd like to space this out, and not have to worry about it every day.

I can use my AC Jr, and a dosing pump (Aqua Lifter would suffice? Or a Drew's doser from BRS?).

How should I set the schedule? Over an 8 hour period only while lights are on? 8 hours starting a certain time into the light cycle? Just the full 24hrs?

Thanks for any input.

MCCOOL
07/14/2010, 11:00 AM
mine is setup with an aqualifter with a valve attached and a timer set to run for 15 minutes, a couple times a day. (with the valve set properly, I get about 5ml in the 15min) with the AC jr. you could set it up to run numerous times a day, in very small increments. (i'm assuming here, I have no experience with aquacotrollers)

mine dispenses only during the day, but I don't see it making much difference if it was at night. I'd space the doses out evenly over 24hrs.

Allmost
07/14/2010, 12:34 PM
mine is setup with an aqualifter with a valve attached and a timer set to run for 15 minutes, a couple times a day. (with the valve set properly, I get about 5ml in the 15min) with the AC jr. you could set it up to run numerous times a day, in very small increments. (i'm assuming here, I have no experience with aquacotrollers)

mine dispenses only during the day, but I don't see it making much difference if it was at night. I'd space the doses out evenly over 24hrs.

aqualifters are not precise though, I use them for my dosing too, but delute the solution so if over dose nothing bad happens.,

MCCOOL
07/14/2010, 12:46 PM
I agree the aqualifters are not 100% precise, but after numerous test runs with the valve, it always came to within 1-2ml of my target, which is close enough for me. can you dillute vodka without adverse effects? will bacteria growth in the vodka become an issue? I have no idea.

Allmost
07/14/2010, 12:51 PM