PDA

View Full Version : Saltwater Rookie 29 Gallon Stocking Option

Chriskk
07/17/2010, 01:23 PM
I've been keeping freshwater tanks for 17 years, and wanted to take the dive into saltwater. I decided to set up a 29 gallon I had in starage (30x18x12). For Equipment I'm running a Rena XP2 for a sump with Live rock pieces and floss, a Bak Pak 2 protein skimmer, and a tetra whisper 45 HOB filter, and 2 Koralia 2 Powerheads. I have 40 pounds of live sand, and 35 pounds of cured live rock. I'm going to start it as a FOWLR, but intend to make it a reef over time. I know I want to put a pair of Clowns in there, but not sure what else. I have a couple of questions.

1.) I'm thinking the equipment I have is pretty good, and will do the job, am I missing anything?

2.) What other fish beside the clowns can I put in there? (Keep in mind this will eventually be a reef tank.

3.) Suggestions for the clean up crew?

4.) Suggestions on a good light fixture for a 29 gallon reef?

5.) What are some easy corals I can start out with?

I'm sure I will think of some other stuff but this will do for now, any help would be much appreciated.

MCCOOL
07/17/2010, 01:44 PM
1 - the equipment is adequate, just make sure you keep the rena and the whisper clean. Doesn't look like you're missing anything imperative.

2 - firefish, gobies, wrasses, blennies, the list goes on. just make sure you have a tight fitting lid, as a lot of fish will jump out.

3 - astrea, cerith, nerite, trochus, nassarius snails are all good choices.

4 - a 24" 4 bulb T5 fixture will allow you to keep most anything you decide to try.

5 - mushrooms, zoanthids, leathers, palythoas...

zachfishman
07/17/2010, 05:21 PM