PDA

View Full Version : Kalk Dosing Questions

surfthreeeleven
07/24/2010, 08:42 AM
So, I'm a complete noob at Kalk dosing and need a little bit of help. I have been dosing a 2 part solution in the past but have recently decided to start dosing kalk to make it a bit more hands-off. At the advice of my lfs, I have mixed the kalk in my top-off resevoir (10 gallon), and is fed to the sump w/ an aqualifter/float-valve auto-topoff for the evaporated water. I also placed a small powerhead in the resevoir on a timer that runs for 15 minutes every 6 hours to make sure the kalk doesn't get nasty on the bottom. My questions are:

1) Is this a good way to dose kalk?

2) Do I still need to dose the 2 part solution?

3) Do I need to dose the 2 part solution after a waterchange for a few days?

Thanks! :beer:

HighlandReefer
07/24/2010, 08:50 AM
You don't want to mix the kalk water after you do the initial stirring to get it dissolve. Mixing afterwards will add more CO2 into the water and will lead to more calcium carbonate precipitation. This will make the kalk water less potent. Also you don't want to dose the nasty stuff at the bottom, so you want it to settle on the bottom. The nasty stuff contains contaminates like heavy metals (copper) you don't want in your tank. Your draw tube should be a couple inches off the bottom of your kalk tank to prevent dosing the precipitants. :)

A float switch only may allow too much kalk to be dosed at one time. It is best to use a dosing pump with a timer. This will also help prevent kalk overdoses that will raise your pH too high if the float switch sticks. This leads to snow storms, which you don't want.