PDA

View Full Version : Setup Confusion

bFarmer
07/25/2010, 02:03 PM
Hello all, need some input

I'm pretty new at this and trying to figure some things out. I adopted an abandoned 10 gallon from my niece who, after getting rock, sand, test kits and killing fish, quickly lost interest and was gonna just trash it. i learned a lot the basic lessons the hard way and recently (about 2 months ago) upgraded to a 30 gal. Now have that, plenty of LR, good flow and good lighting. Just ordered an eshopps psk-100 skimmer and was originally planning on using the 10g as a sump. ...but... caught a petco sale and got a 20h for $20. Then went the planning for that. Im building a stand and since the 20g is the same width as the 30g, was going to have an open window for the sump/refugium. i got glass baffles cut and was having trouble figuring out the skimmer/return/refugium diminsions since i wanted to maximize the refugium area since it will be displayed. Decided to go with skimmer>bubble trap>refugium with the return pump (not yet purchased) in the refugium... but now i'm thinking this, and what i need some input on since i cant find any setup online like it:

30 gallon overflow into inclosed 10g inside the stand (this will leave plenty extra room underneath which was a prob with 20g). The 10g will be the skimmer>bubble trap>return. The return pump (need pump(s) ideas) will be split between going back to 30g and into the 20g display refugium. Overflow from display refugium going into the return section of the 10g sump. Valve on the return to refugium so there will be a little less flow to it.

Does this make since and will it work/be efficient. This way I can have two disply tanks. the 30 will be mostly coral oriented and the 20 can be some decorative macro algaes and maybe shrimp, snails and more passive fish. Any suggestions on it? should i have one return pump t'd off or two seperate pumps? Any extra equipment?

uncleof6
07/25/2010, 02:58 PM