PDA

View Full Version : LFS said I had to have the 2 part solution calcium buffer system. Any thoughts?

AJimmy419
07/31/2010, 07:20 PM
Hello experts. I'm new to the hobby and i have a 34 gallon RedSeaMax take I got from a previous owner, who have me his water, live rock, sand, and a couple little coral frags. I've had the tank for 2 weeks and I haven't added anything yet. I went to the LFS today and just started to pick their brain a little. He said that the one thing I needed was the Kent Marine 2 part solution calcium buffer system. Any thoughts on that, and if this was a MUST HAVE item? The guy said to add about a capsule of each solution per day, which coincides with the directions. My question is, do I need to add this everyday, even if my calcium level is okay? Does adding it everyday, make the calcium level okay? Thoughts on how everybody uses the calcium buffer system in their tank?

Tuscaquatics
07/31/2010, 07:26 PM
No, you absolutely don't want to just add it every day. You need to test your water and add it when needed. With no corals and a new tank, that will be rarely.

You really don't need to be dosing a 2 part at all at this point. If you use a reef salt mix you will be fine until you start adding corals. Once you get corals, or start growing significant coralline to actually use up calcium and alkalinity, then you can start dosing.

Once again, I'm shocked at the things an LFS will tell you in order to sell you something. If you added a capful everyday to that tank, your calcium and alkalinity would be off the charts in about 3 days.

Toddrtrex
07/31/2010, 07:36 PM
Given the size of your tank, and what you have in it, weekly water changes with a quality salt just might provide your Cal, Al, and Mag needs (( Mag isn't covered by 2 part )). Some day down the road you might need to add it every day, but you would need to be testing to show how much you need.

For my established 58 and 75 I have to add 90 ML 5 days a week to keep my levels in check.