PDA

View Full Version : Could Someone help a noobie?

critofer
08/01/2010, 08:59 PM
Hey guys,
I am new to fishtanks and aquariums. My pet Chameleon just recently passed away, I have now decided i would like to start my own Saltwater Aquarium. I am going to start off with a 30 gallon tank. I was thinking about a Biocube 29G but thats is way to expensive for me, i checked craigslist and couldn't find one for under $300. Anyway, since i don't know anything about what kind of filters are good ones, Could you guys give me some help? What filter should i buy for a 30 gallon saltwater tank, i don't have much money to spend. So what i am saying is what is the cheapest filter that will get the job done well. Also,i heard about protein skimmers. Same thing, what is the best protein skimmer for the cheapest that will get the job done well. What kind of heater should i get? I am playing to put alot of live rock in the tank also. And any tips you can give me? Anything else i am missing for a good setup. i am planning on getting 1 or 2 clown fish and maybe another fish or two at the most.

Thanks guys!!! :D

Chris

Reefman29
08/01/2010, 09:05 PM
Have you kept any fish tanks? I have a 30 gallon as well. I have a Whisper filter. I have a seaclone on mine, but it is overkill. Marineland heater, I also use a petco brand heater. Do you want to keep a reef, like coral? That will determine your lights. Substrate could be either sand or crushed coral.

scbrooks87
08/01/2010, 09:06 PM
Do things slowly... Pick things up piece by piece... My aquarium is costing WAY more than i budgeted for, but i am affording it only because im buying things slowly over a long period of time...

A reef tank is a big glass box that swallows your wallet... So there's no real cheap way to get into the hobby successfully.

Hope some people can give advice on less expensive, quality equipment...

Best of luck!
-Scott

beastrx
08/01/2010, 09:07 PM