PDA

View Full Version : New tank: Getting worried about all these brittle stars or brittle worms?

AJimmy419
08/03/2010, 10:55 AM
Hey everyone. I'm new to the hobby and have a 34 gallon RedSeaMax. I bought the tank from a guy who had been running it for about a year. He gave me his live rock & sand, his water, and couple little coral frags. My tank has been running at my house for about a week. I wanna start adding coral and fish, but I really want to understand how to work the tank before I buy anything. Over the past week, I've been noticing lots of living organisms. I started to notice a whole lot of brittle stars recently, and I do mean a lot? Now, I've been reading up on brittle worms as well, and I'm starting to think, maybe these are brittle worms. The legs that are sticking out have a color pattern of brown and white. One thing I do notice is that where there's one leg, there's a couple more right by it. So would that mean that they are brittle stars or brittle worms? Is it bad to have a lot of these hiding in the rocks? Do I have to worry about a infestation of brittle stars or worms? Is there any type of "clean-up crew" member that I can get, that will eat all the bad stuff in my tank?

Also I started noticing a small, 1 inch long, yellow worm, with multiple stringy heads. There seems to be a lot of them. Any thoughts on these? Are they good or bad for my tank? I think they are called Medusa Worms.

Sorry for such the long post. Appreciate any feedback on the matter.

Sugar Magnolia
08/03/2010, 11:01 AM
Sounds to me like you have micro brittle star arms sticking out of the rockwork. They are scavengers and a very good thing to have. Bristleworms are also a good hitch hiker. They eat left over food and detritus. The yellow worm you described is likely a cirratulid worm, also beneficial.

Bookmark this site for future hitchhiker reference - http://www.chucksaddiction.com/hitchhikers.html

AJimmy419
08/03/2010, 11:11 AM