PDA

View Full Version : To Pull or to Push


tmc1313
08/05/2010, 09:21 AM
I am setting up a closed loop system. I am going to use an external pump connected to a canister filter. Should I "push" (pump installed before canister) or "pull" the water (pump installed after the canister). Thanks

Dino
08/05/2010, 09:33 AM
I'm guessing this must not be one of the canister filters with its own integrated motor? (IE: Fluvals). You'll want to push, you don't want to have any restrictions on the in going side of a pump.

davocean
08/05/2010, 09:40 AM
Sorry man, had to do it!LOL

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e141/mermail/37291_1457317069157_1120269879_31284899_3995217_n.jpg

tmc1313
08/05/2010, 09:51 AM
Thanks Dino, that's what I thought, but wanted another opinion. Davocean, I can't see what you posted, I'm at work and they block a ton of stuff, but I can just imagine.

davocean
08/05/2010, 11:11 AM
LOL, nothing too bad, just pull/push reminded me of my favorite "farside" pic!

tkeracer619
08/05/2010, 11:41 AM
I would never hook a closed loop up to a canister filter.

You want a closed loop to provide flow not mechanical filtration. I would maybe provide an option to plumb it in should you want to polish the water but running a canister on a CL 24/7 seems like a maintenance nightmare to me.

What is your reasoning for using the canister?

tmc1313
08/05/2010, 12:42 PM
tkeracer619, That's pretty much exactly why I want to plumb it in. I'm only going to run GAC and GFO through the canister.

D-Nak
08/05/2010, 01:13 PM
Sounds like we need to define what you mean by closed loop. I agree with tkeracer that hooking anything inline that needs to be maintained to a true "closed loop" somewhat defeats a major advantage of a closed loop -- once it's hooked up and running you don't need to do anything. Have you considered adding a small pump to your sump to push water through the canister?

goochesfish
08/05/2010, 01:15 PM
You're not gonna get much flow for the closed loop using a canister.

tmc1313
08/05/2010, 01:37 PM
Yes, let me clear up a couple of things and give some more information. The aquarium is a standard 30 gallon. It's been set up for about six years (reef tank). If you've ever seen fish's 2 gallon nano thread, this is what I'm going to attempt, just upscale everything. Goochesfish, that's why I'm going to use a more powerful external pump to increase my flow. As soon as I start this project (this weekend) I will start posting pics as I go. The whole idea is to not see any plumbing at all, not even an overflow. The only thing you might see is the bulkhead for the drain, which I should be able to hide.

tmc1313
08/05/2010, 01:42 PM
Oh, and there will be two returns, drilled on the bottom (one on each side about 7 inches in at the center) shooting water straight up.

tkeracer619
08/05/2010, 05:34 PM
IMO if your only going to run gfo and carbon in the canister then you need to rethink your plan.

Put a reactor in the sump not a canister on the closed loop. You will be very disappointing in the flow you get after the carbon if you go with your plan.

tmc1313
08/06/2010, 07:00 AM
tkeracer619, I've been thinking about what you said. The external pump will be my main source of circulation and I don't want to obstruct that in any way. So, I will be plumbing a canister separately to be use for GFO and GAC, and I'll benefit from whatever increased circulation I get from running the canister. Like I said, as soon as I start I'll start a new thread on the build, just waiting for some parts to come in.

im4292
08/06/2010, 07:12 AM
I agree with tkeracer, for only GFO+GAC why not just use a reactor plumbed into your sump return?